◆イースター霊想(4)◆

―あなたはイエスをどうするのか?―

(マタ 27:22) 「ピラトは彼らに言った。『では、キリストと言われているイエスを私はどのようにしようか。』」

これは、長年にわたって、何千回となく語られてきた物語です。そしてこの問いに対する答えは変わりません。かれこれ2000年以上前、ピラトと呼ばれる人物が、人生で最も大切な問いを発しました。彼の前には、ある巡回伝道者が立っていました。その容貌には、なんら目立ったものはありませんでした。彼は多くの群衆の人気者でしたが、心からの追随者はほとんどいませんでした。彼には富はおろか、住むべき自分の家さえありませんでした。それなのに彼は、群衆からの激しい憎しみの対象となりました。ピラトは尋ねました。「この男を、私はどのようにしようか?」 群衆が「十字架に付けろ!」と叫び立てた時、この人、イエス・キリストは、ピラトが臆病にも十字架刑を宣告した時にも、一人静かに立っていました。

ピラトが発した質問は、私たちが、一人残らず尋ねなければならない問いです。「私は、この人、イエスをどのようにしようか?」

このお方は、あなたを愛しておられます。たとえあなたが彼にほとんど関心を払わないとしても――。このお方は、あなたの罪のための罰を払ってくださったほどに、あなたを気にかけておられるのです。あなたはこのイエス様をどのようになさいますか? あなたの永遠の運命は、あなたがどのように応えるかで、今、秤にかかっているのです。

(ローマ 5:8) 「しかし私たちがまだ罪人であったとき、キリストが私たちのために死んでくださったことにより、神は私たちに対するご自身の愛を明らかにしておられます。」

(ローマ 1:16) 「私は福音を恥とは思いません。福音は、ユダヤ人をはじめギリシヤ人にも、信じるすべての人にとって、救いを得させる神の力です。」

 

Pilate's Ultimate Question

"Pilate said to them, 'Then what shall I do with Jesus who is called Christ?'" - Matthew 27:22

It's a story that has been told thousands of times over the years. And the answer to the question remains the same. Over 2,000 years ago, a man named Pilate asked the most important question in life. Standing before him was an itinerant preacher. There was nothing remarkable about His looks. He had attracted a large following but few committed followers. He had no wealth - not even a home of His own. Yet He was the object of an unmitigated hatred from a mob. Pilate asked, "What shall I do with this man?" As the mob cried for His execution, the man, Jesus Christ, stood silently as Pilate cowardly sentenced Him to death on the cross.

The question Pilate asked is ultimately one all of us have to ask. What shall I do with this man Jesus?

He loves you, even when you could care less about Him. He cared enough to pay the penalty for your sin. What will you do with Jesus? Your eternal destiny hangs in the balance by how you respond.

From: Right From the Heart's Devotional