◆イースター霊想(2)◆

―主の苦しみの杯は誰(た)がため?―

【マタイ26:39】 それから、イエスは少し進んで行って、ひれ伏して祈って言われた。「わが父よ。できますならば、この杯をわたしから過ぎ去らせてください。しかし、わたしの願うようにではなく、あなたのみこころのように、なさってください。

「この杯を過ぎ去らせてください」と、園でキリストが言われた言葉を、私は黙想してみただろうか? そして、もしキリストが、この苦しみと犠牲の苦き杯を飲み干す道を選ばなかったら、私自身の人生はどうなっていたかと考えてみただろうか?(マデレン・ワー)

「イエスは園におられた。―そこは、アダムがそこで自らを、そして全人類を破滅させはしたが、最初の人として置かれた“喜びの園”ではなく、イエスが、そこでご自身を、そして全人類を救われた“苦悶の園”だった。」(ブレイズ・パスカル)

【解説】私たちも今、静まって、マデレンさんやパスカルと同じような思いで、心を探られ、深い感謝の思いを新たにしなければなりません。このイエスの苦悶の祈りのゆえに、私たちの確かな救いがあるのですから――。

"And going a little farther, He threw Himself upon the ground on His face and prayed saying, 'My Father, if it is possible, let this cup pass away from Me.'" [Matthew 26: 39]

Have I contemplated Christ's words in the Garden, "Let this cup pass from Me," and thought what would have been the result in my own life if Christ had not chosen to drink of the cup of bitter pain and sacrifice?

"Jesus was in a garden, not of delight as the first Adam in which he (Adam) destroyed himself and the whole human race, but in one of agony, in which he saved Himself and the whole human race."

~ Blaise Pascal