◆感謝する◆

(Ⅰテサロニケ 5:18) 「すべての事について、感謝しなさい。これが、キリスト・イエスにあって神があなたがたに望んでおられることです。」

 

神のみ心の真ん中は、神の祝福でいっぱいです。

 

今日の私の黙想と勧めは、「感謝する」ということです。

 

フランス革命について書かれたチャールズ・ディケンズの小説「二都物語」には、こういう一節があります。「それは最高の時だった。それは最低の時だった。…それは希望の春だった。それは絶望の冬だった。」 人生は、繁栄と同時に逆境をもたらします。私が十代だった時、父がくれた忠告を思い出します。「多くの人は、繁栄にうまく処するよりも、逆境に立ち向かうことのほうがよくできるものだ。」 あなたは、神の忠実さについての確信をもって、神からの視点を保ち続けるなら、どちらの状況にいても成長することができます。困難なときには、そこからの“出口”ではなく、“教訓”を探し求めなさい。

 

私たちの救い主の系図の中で、あなたは、困難の中に、いえ悲劇の中にさえ、神の備えと摂理の物語を見いだすでしょう。ルツ記を読んでごらんなさい。これはわずか4章の短さですが、逆境のただ中における、神の摂理と祝福の最も驚くべき物語です。エリメレクとナオミ夫婦は、ベツレヘムで飢饉を経験しました。二人の息子と共に、彼らはモアブでよりよい生活を見つけるため、ベツレヘムを離れました。不幸にも、彼らは、よその場所ならうまくいくと、思い込んでいたのです。それは、彼らの逆境をさらに悪くしただけでした。モアブで、エリメレクは死にました。ナオミの息子たちは結婚しましたが、悲劇的な状況の中で、のちに彼らも死んでしまいました。

 

ナオミは、異郷の地で、ただ2人のモアブ人の嫁がいるだけで、孤独でした。それで彼女は、生まれ故郷のベツレヘム(“パンの家”の意)に帰る決心をしました。私は、ベツレヘムへ帰ろうという決心を彼女に促した動機が好きです。

「モアブの野でナオミは、主がご自分の民を顧みて彼らにパンを下さったと聞いたからである。…こうして、ナオミは、嫁のモアブの女ルツといっしょに、モアブの野から帰って来て、大麦の刈り入れの始まったころ、ベツレヘムに着いた。」(1:6,22) 「家」は帰るににはいい場所です。そして刈り入れ時は、常に、“パンの家”に帰るにはいい時です。どのような状況が、あなたをどこかに行かせようと誘惑しても、神があなたに備えた場所にいることが最善の選択です。神の祝福は、神のみ心の真ん中にあり、しかも豊かなのです。

 

ナオミは飢饉の時に家を出ましたが、それは家族全員でした。彼女は収穫の時に帰郷しますが、一緒の家族ははるかに少ないものでした。人は、最も愛する者を失うと、飢饉でさえ、耐えねばならない小さなものにしか見えません。彼女の感じたことが現実でした。彼女が家を出るときに想像したことは当たりませんでした。「私は満ち足りて出て行きましたが、主は私を素手で帰されました。」(1:21) ルツ記1:20-22をお読みください。もちろん彼女は、彼女が帰ったとき、摂理の中で何が待っているかを、まだ知りませんでした。ルツ記4:14-17をお読みください。あなたの現在の状況が、どんなに落胆させるものであっても、神の備えた多くの良きものがあなたを待っているのです。Ⅰコリント2:9、10をお読みください。

「まさしく、聖書に書いてあるとおりです。『目が見たことのないもの、耳が聞いたことのないもの、そして、人の心に思い浮かんだことのないもの。神を愛する者のために、神の備えてくださったものは、みなそうである。』 神はこれを、御霊によって私たちに啓示されたのです。御霊はすべてのことを探り、神の深みにまで及ばれるからです。」

 

(Ⅰテサロニケ5:16-18) 「いつも喜んでいなさい。絶えず祈りなさい。すべての事について、感謝しなさい。これが、キリスト・イエスにあって神があなたがたに望んでおられることです。」

あなたの祝福は、あなたの問題を上回ります。幸せは、あなたが欲しいものを手に入れたら訪れるものではありません。幸せは、あなたが神が置かれた場所におり、神がお与えくださった全てのものを感謝するときに訪れます。困難なとき、あなたは、“物”よりも、“人”と、その人との“つながり”が大切であることを学びます。“日々、感謝する”―それは、不平不満よりも、恵みを数える良き時なのです。

 

感謝の祈りをささげるとき、私は、あなたが神の十分な豊かさを見いだし、その恵みに感謝できるよう、祈ります。

~アレン・ランドルフ~

 

Thanksgiving.

“In everything give thanks; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you.”

📖 1 Thessalonians 5:18NKJV.

God’s blessings abound in the center of God’s will.

My thoughts and comments today are about “giving thanks.”

In A Tale of Two Cities, Charles Dickens’ novel about the French Revolution explains, “It was the best of times; it was the worst of times . . It was the spring of hope; it was the winter of despair.” Life presents adversity as well as prosperity. While a young teen I remember my Father advising, “More people can stand adversity than can handle prosperity.” You can grow in either, if you keep a Godly perspective with a conviction about God’s faithfulness. In tough times, look for the lesson not the exit.

In the genealogy of our Savior, you will find a story of God’s provision and providence amid difficulty, even tragedy. Read the book of Ruth, four brief chapters but the most amazing story of God’s providence and blessing in the midst of adversity. Elimelech and Naomi experienced a famine in Bethlehem. Along with their two sons, they left Bethlehem to find a better life in Moab. Wrongly, they assumed things would be better elsewhere. Their adversity only worsened. In Moab, Elimelech died. Naomi’s sons married, but through tragic circumstances they later died also.

Naomi was alone in a foreign land with only her two Moabite daughters-in-law. That’s when she determined to return home to Bethlehem, ‘the House of bread.” I love what prompted her desire to return to Bethlehem. “In Moab she heard that the Lord had visited His people in giving them bread . . now [Naomi and Ruth] came to Bethlehem at the beginning of harvest.”Ruth 1:6/22. Home is a good place to come and harvest is always a good time to return to “the House of bread.”Whatever circumstances lured you elsewhere, being where God provides for you is paramount.God’s blessings are found and abound in the center of God’s will.

Naomi left home in a famine, but with all of her family. She returns at harvest, but with far less than when she left. When you lose those you love most, even a famine seems a small thing to endure. Her feelings were real; her assumptions were inaccurate. “I went away full . . I came back empty,” was her sad appraisal. Read Ruth 1:20-22 NKJV. Of course, she didn’t yet know what providentially awaited her return.Read Ruth 4:14-17 NKJV. However disheartening your present experience, God has so much good still awaiting you. See 1 Corinthians 2:9-10 NLT.

“Rejoice always. In everything give thanks; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you.” 1 Thessalonians5:16/18 NKJV. Your blessings outnumber your troubles.Happiness doesn’t come from getting what you want; happiness is being where God wants you to be and appreciating all God has given. In tough times you learn that people and relationships matter more than things. Thanksgiving – every day- is a good time to count your blessings rather than complain.

On Thanksgiving, I pray for you to find God’s sufficiency, grateful for His grace.

By: Allen Randolph