◆神について思うこと◆

ある夕方、私は「パイオニアガールズ」という少女グループに、彼女たちが神様について考えたときに、真っ先に心に浮かぶのはどんなことか尋ねました。一人の少女が答えました。「雲に乗っている長いヒゲの老人」と。それが彼女の理解している神だったのです。

 

私はしばしば、“もっと年上の大人は、神についてどう考えるのかな”と思います。A.W.   トーザーはこう書いています。「私たちが、神について、誰か人の考えるものではなく、聖書的イメージを持つことはとても大切である」と。

 

ウィリアム・ブライト博士は、神について、以下のように書いています。(訳注: これが”聖書的イメージ”です。)

1.      神は霊だから、私はこの方との親密な交わりを求める。

2.      神は全能だから、どんなことでも助けてくださる。

3.      神は遍在されるから、どんなときも私と共におられる。

4.      神は全知だから、私は全ての疑問と関心を、この方のもとに持っていく。

5.      神は主権者だから、私は喜んでこの方のみ心に従う。

6.      神は聖だから、私は聖さと、礼拝と、奉仕をもってこの方に身をささげる。

7.      神は絶対的な真理だから、私はこの方の言われることを信じ、それに従って生きる。

8.      神は義であるから、私は神の規準に従って生きる。

9.      神は正しいから、私を公平に扱ってくださる。

10.   神は愛だから、私の安寧のために無条件に尽くしてくださる。

11.   神はあわれみ深いから、私が心から告白すれば、罪を赦してくださる。

12.   神は忠実だから、お約束をいつも守ってくださることを信じる。

13.   神は不変だから、私の未来は安全に守られ、永遠のものである。

 

あなたが神について考えるとき、あなたの心に浮かぶものはなんですか? それを書き記してごらんなさい。それは聖書的ですか? それとも自分の神イメージを書き直す必要がありそうですか?

 

《祈り》 あなたがいかにすばらしく、愛あるお方であるかをさやかに見るために、私たちの目からうろこを取り除いてくださいますように。ああ、主よ! アーメン。

 

~キャサリン・ケーラー~

 

What You Think about God

One evening I asked a group of Pioneer Girls what was the first thing that came to their mind when they thought about God. One girl answered, “An old man with a long beard, sitting on a cloud.” That was how she perceived God.

I often wonder what older adults think about God. A.W. Tozer wrote, “What comes into our minds when we think about God is the most important thing about us.” It is so important that we have the Biblical image of God and not someone else’s.

Dr. William R. Bright wrote the following about God.

1. Because God is spirit, I will seek intimate fellowship with Him.

2. Because God is all-powerful, He can help me with anything.

3. Because God is ever-present, He is always with me.

4. Because God knows everything, I will go to Him with all my questions and concerns.

5. Because God is sovereign, I will joyfully submit to His will.

6. Because God is holy, I will devote myself to Him in purity, worship and service.

7. Because God is absolute truth, I will believe what He says and live accordingly.

8. Because God is righteous, I will live by His standards.

9. Because God is just, He will treat me fairly.

10. Because God is love, He is unconditionally committed to my well-being.

11. Because God is merciful, He forgives me of my sins when I sincerely confess them.

12. Because God is faithful, I will trust Him to always keep His promises.

13. Because God never changes, my future is secure and eternal.

What comes to your mind when you think about God? Write it down. Is it Biblical? Do you need to rethink your view of God?

May You take the scales off our eyes to see clearly how wonderful and loving You are, Oh Lord! Amen.

By Katherine Kehler

(シェア・ マデレン・ワー)