◆神の箱◆

◆信仰と希望と愛の庭で◆

―神の箱―

 

私は手に2つの箱を持っています。

神様が持っているようにと言われたのです。

神様は言われました。「悲しみは、みんな黒い箱に入れなさい。」

「そして喜びは、みんな金の箱に。」

私は神様の言葉を守って、喜びと悲しみをしまいました。

けれど、“喜び”の箱は日を追ってだんだん重くなるのに、

“悲しみ”の箱はいつまでたっても軽いままでした。

好奇心に駆られた私は、黒い箱を開けました。

ワケを知りたかったのです。

私は、箱の底に1つの穴を見つけました。

そこから私の悲しみは落ちていったのです。

私はその穴を神様に見せて、不思議そうに言いました。

「私の悲しみは、どこに行ったんでしょうか?」

神様は、にっこり微笑んで言いました。

「我が子よ、それは私が持っているんだよ。」

私は神様に尋ねました。「なぜ2つの箱をくださったのですか?」

「なぜ金と、穴の開いた黒い箱なのですか?」

「我が子よ、金の箱は、お前が、与えられた恵みを数えるためだ。」

「黒い箱は、お前が悲しみを手放すためなんだよ。」

 

"God's Boxes"

I have in my hands two boxes,

Which God gave me to hold.

He said, "Put all your sorrows in the black box,

And all your joys into the gold."

I heeded His words, and in the two boxes

Both my joys and sorrows I stored,

But though the gold became heavier each day,

The black was as light as before.

With curiosity, I opened the black.

I wanted to find out why,

And I saw, in the base of the box, a hole

Which my sorrows had fallen out by.

I showed the hole to God and mused,

"I wonder where my sorrows could be?"

He smiled a gentle smile and said,

"My child, they're here with me."

I asked God why He gave me the boxes,

Why the gold and the black with the hole?

"My child, the gold is for you to count your blessings.

The black is for you to let go."