◆死: このゼッタイ的な現実を前に◆

ちょっと立ち止まって、考えてください!

 

“人生”とは何でしょう? 私たち全ての人は、この世に生まれ、ある日、死んでいきます。“死”は、この点では差別しません。死は、あなたが何者であるか、どこの出身か、貧しいか金持ちか、移民かネイティブか、高学歴かなど一切 気にしません。私がこの目で人間を見て思うに、私たちは自分が思い込んでいるのとは裏腹に、この世界で最も進歩していない動物です。私たち人類を見てください。私たちは、破壊的な戦争を生み出す唯一の生き物です。他人(ひと)を憎み、赦すことができず、もっと欲しがり、心には怒りを蓄積させ、貪欲で、嫉妬深い者ですが、最後にはみんな死に、そこで全ては終わってしまうのです。

 人生とは、あえて生きにくくするに値するものでしょうか? 私たちが追い求め、探し求めたり憧れたりするもの、便利な道具や装置、富や所有物などの一切は、やがてある日、終わりを迎え、私たちはそのうちのどれ一つ、墓まで持ち込むことはできません。けれども一つだけ、いつまでも残るものがあります。それは私たちがこの世に名前と共に残す“自分”という遺産です。この世に何か“違い”をもたらすために、お生きなさい。

 

~サミュエル・リー~

 

Pause and Think for A While!

 

What is life about? We are all born and we all die one day. Death does not discriminate in this. Death doesn’t care who you are, were you come from, poor rich, migrant, native, or highly educated.

When I look at humans, I think, unlike what we believe, we are the least advanced creatures in the world. Look at us humans: we are the only creatures that creates destructive wars: we hate, we cannot forgive, we want to have more, we store anger in our hearts, we have greed, we are jealous, but in the end we all die and everything will be over.

Is life worth making it difficult? All the things we are chasing, looking after or longing, tools and gadgets, wealth and possessions, will finish one day, we cannot take them to our graves, but one thing will always remain and that is the legacy and the name we leave

behind. Live to make a difference!

 

—Samuel Lee