◆私にとって、M・L・キングJr.博士とは誰か?◆

毎朝、オランダ、アムステルダムのファウンデーション・アカデミーにある私のオフィスに入るたびに、マーティン・ルーサー・キングJr. の写真が、彼の最も有名な言葉 「私には夢がある」と共に、私を迎えてくれる。この言葉は、私がここアムステルダムで、私が持っているささやかな力をもって行っている、私の黒人の兄弟姉妹たち、またこの社会のさまざまな少数グループの人たちの“声”になろうと努める仕事を続けることを、内から奮い立たせてくれる。過去500年間、私の黒人の兄弟姉妹たちは、組織的な人種差別、奴隷制度、人種売買を味わってきたし、現代においても、彼らは隠された偏見と人種差別に直面しているのである。

 もうすでに24年間にわたって、私はアムステルダムにおいて黒人の方々と関わってきた。幾度となく私は、差別され、拒否されたために、涙ながらに私のオフィスを訪れた私の学生たち、友人たち、教会の家族たちに会ってきた。ほんの数週間前も、そんな私の学生の一人で3人の子供の母親である女性が、こんな経験をした。クラスに向かう地下鉄の電車の中で、彼女が神学書を読んでいると、隣に座っていた2人の大人が、冷やかすようにこう言った。「あんた、何をやろうとしてんだ? 白人と同じように振る舞おうとでも考えてんのか? 本てのは白人のものなんだよ!」 彼らはそんなことを言ったのだ! 私は、ほとんど毎週のように聞いている多くの似たような事例を、いくらでも挙げることができる。私の西欧人の友人たちの中には、こんな反応をする人がいる。「今まで、うまくやってきたろ?」「忘れろ。500年前の話だ」彼らはそう言うのだ。それに対する私の答えは、さしずめこうだ。 「ああ、たぶん君はうまくやってきたかもしれない。でも私が毎日関わっている人たちは、500年前に起こったことのゆえにではなく、今も起こっていることのせいで、いまだに苦闘し、精神的に苦しんでいるんだ。」 法的に言えば、黒人の人々に対する人種差別や偏見は、法律上は禁じられているが、それは多くの人々の心の中ではひそかに生きていて、人々の毎日の振る舞いの中に、蛇のように忍び込んでいる。―目には見えず、隠され、巧妙に、そして容易には突き止められないような形でではあるが、それは紛れもなく生きているのだ!

 キング博士の残した遺産は、継承されなければならない。誰も、キング博士のようにはなれないが、私たちが影響を及ぼせる小さな領域で、私たちは彼の足跡を追って歩き、行動できるのである。
~サミュエル・リー~
----------------------------------------------------------------------------
◆1968年4月4日 キング牧師暗殺50周年に寄せて◆
―キング牧師は、今も叫ぶ―

“不法”は、どこであろうとも、“正義”に対する脅迫である。

~マーティン・ルーサー・キング Jr.~

(訳 小川政弘)

Who is Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. to me?
Every morning as I enter my office at Foundation Academy of Amsterdam, the picture of Martin Luther King Jr. welcomes me with his most profound words: “I have a dream...”. These words give me inspiration to continue with the work I am doing here in Amsterdam---trying with my little strength that I have---to be a voice for my black brothers and sisters, as well as for any marginalised groups in the society. In the past five hundred years, my black brothers and sisters have experienced systematic racism, slavery, human trafficking, even currently they are confronted with hidden prejudices and racism.
Already for 24 years I have been involved with the African community in Amsterdam. Many times, I have had students, friends, church families coming to my office full of tears, because they have been discriminated or rejected. Just few weeks ago a black student of mine, a mother of three kids, while she was reading her theology books in the metro on her way to the class, two adults who sat next to her asked her sarcastically: “What are you trying to do? Are you trying to act like white folks? Books are for whites!” they said! I can go on with many examples that I hear almost every week. Some of my western friends, often react like: “have we not dealt with this?” Or “Get over it, it was 500 years ago” they say. My answer to them would be; “yes, perhaps you have dealt with it, but those with whom I am involved every day, are still struggling, internally suffering not only because of what happened five hundred years ago, but also because of what is happening today.” Technically, racism and prejudices against the black people are forbidden in the lawbooks but they are secretly alive in many people’s hearts and like a snake they slip into people’s daily conducts: unseen, hidden, tricky and not easily traceable--- but they are there!
Dr. King’s legacy must continue, none of us can be Dr. King, but in our little spheres of influence we can walk and operate in his footsteps.

Samuel Lee