◆ある双子の赤ちゃんの”胎話”◆

母親の子宮の中に、双子がいました。一人がもう一人に聞きました。「生まれたあとも命はあると思う?」彼は答えました。「なんで? もちろんさ。生まれても何かあるはずだよ。たぶん、ここでボクらは、あとで自分が成ることの準備をしてるんだ。」

 

「くだらない」と一番目が言いました。「生まれたら命なんてもうない。そもそもどんな命があるっていうんだ?」

 

二番目が言いました。「分かんない。でもここよりは光があると思う。たぶん僕たちは二本の足で歩けて、口から物を食べるんだよ。それとボクらが今は分からない別の感覚も持つと思う。」

 

一番目が答えました。「バカバカしい。“歩く”なんてできっこない。それに口で食べるだって? ムチャクチャだ! へその緒が栄養やボクらに必要なもの全てを運んでくれるんだ。でもへその緒は短すぎる。生まれたあとの命ななんて、論理的に想定外だよ。」

 

二番目が言い張りました。「いや、何かあるよ。それはたぶんここにあるものとは違うんだ。おそらくこのへその緒はもう必要ないんじゃないかな。」

 

一番目が答えました。「ナンセンス。それにもし命があるんなら、どうして誰もそこから戻ってこないんだよ? 生まれる時は命の終わり。そしてここを出たら、もう暗闇と沈黙と無意識しかないんだよ。どこにも行き場所なんかないんだ。」

 

「さあ、ボクには分かんない。」二番目が言いました。「でもきっと僕らは“お母さん”に会って、その人が僕らの世話をしてくれるんだよ。」

 

一番目が答えました。「“お母さん”だって? お前、本気で“母”なんか信じてんの? 笑わせないでよ。もし“母”がいるんなら、その人は今、どこにいるのさ?」

 

二番目が言いました。「その人はボクらの周りのどこにもいるんだよ。ボクらはその人に囲まれているんだ。ボクらはその人のものなんだ。ボクらが生きているのは、その人の中なんだ。その人がいなければ、この世界はないし、存在することもできないんだよ。」

 

一番目が言いました。「その人、ボクには見えないよ。だから、その人は存在しない。理屈で考えても簡単明瞭じゃないか。」

 

それに対して二番目は言いました。「時々、ボクらがじっと黙って、心を集中して耳をそばだててると、その人がいるってことを全身で“感じる”んだ。そしてその人の優しい声が、どこか高いところからボクらを呼んでるのが聞こえてくるんだよ。」

 

【解説】 読んでいくうちに、「あ、ひょっとしてこれって…」と思われたでしょう? そう、《これが、“神様”がどんなお方かについての、最もいい説明かもしれません。》(英文の最後) 何しろ、訳者も初めて挑戦する生まれる前の胎児の会話(対話=胎話!)です。表現はできるだけ砕いてはみましたが、「胎児がこんな難しいこと、言うかよ!」なんて言わないでくださいね。それを言ったらおしまいです。大切なのは、霊なる神様は、目には見えませんが、確かにおられて、私たちを守っておられること。このお方を信じるときに、信じる前は想像もつかない、全く新しい永遠の命の世界が待っているのだということなのですから――。

 

In a mother’s womb were two babies. One asked the other: “Do you

believe in life after delivery?”The other replied, “Why, of course. There has to be something after delivery. Maybe we are here to prepare ourselves for what we will be later.”

“Nonsense” said the first. “There is no life after delivery. What kind of life would that be?”

The second said, “I don’t know, but there will be more light than here. Maybe we will walk with our legs and eat from our mouths. Maybe we will have other senses that we can’t understand now.”

The first replied, “That is absurd. Walking is impossible. And eating

with our mouths? Ridiculous! The umbilical cord supplies nutrition and everything we need. But the umbilical cord is so short. Life after delivery is to be logically excluded.”

The second insisted, “Well I think there is something and maybe it’s

different than it is here. Maybe we won’t need this physical cord anymore.”

The first replied, “Nonsense. And moreover if there is life, then why

has no one ever come back from there? Delivery is the end of life, and in the after-delivery there is nothing but darkness and silence and oblivion. It takes  us nowhere.”

“Well, I don’t know,” said the second, “but certainly we will meet Mother and she will take care of us.”

The first replied “Mother? You actually believe in Mother? That’s

laughable. If Mother exists then where is She now?”

The second said, “She is all around us. We are surrounded by her. We are of Her. It is in Her that we live. Without Her this world would not and could not exist.”

Said the first: “Well I don’t see Her, so it is only logical that She

doesn’t exist.”

To which the second replied, “Sometimes, when you’re in silence and you focus and listen, you can perceive Her presence, and you can hear Her loving voice, calling down from above.”

 

May be this was one of the best explanations to the concept of GOD.