◆私の”イミタチオ・クリスティ”(キリストに倣いて)◆

キリストへの信仰を、私はどのように実践しようとしているだろうか? 

私には両手を大きく広げながら、両足でしっかり、力強く立っている自分が見える。自分の足で立っている姿は、神に対する揺るがない信仰と愛を表すものだし、広げた腕は、私の同胞である人間への愛を表している。そうやって彼らを、私の立っている地、聖なる大地に招待しているのだ。そこでは、全ての人が歓迎される。拒絶されている人、虐待されている人、打ちひしがれた人、必要とされない人、宗教界、政治や権力の世界の中の“パリサイ派”や偽善者たちに裁かれている人々もだ。

“両手を広げたクリスチャン信仰”――これが、私の理解する自分の信仰であり、そのようにして私は、イエスに従っていこうとしているのだ。

 

How do I try to practice my faith in Christ? I see myself standing on my feet solid and strong, with my arms wide open. Standing on my feet represent my steadfast faith and love in God, and my open arms represent my love for my fellow humans, inviting them to where I am standing, a holy ground, where all are welcome; the rejected ones, the bruised, the broken, the unwanted, those who are judged by the pharisees and hypocrites of religion, politics and power. An open arms Christianity: this how I see my faith, this how I try to follow Jesus.

- Samuel Lee