◆私が信奉するのはキリストか、キリスト教か◆

25年間、牧師であり教育者である者として、私はこれまでにも増して、イエス・キリストと、世が“キリスト教”と呼ぶものとの間には、極めて大きな違いがあるということを確信している。それは私が“キリスト教”を尊敬しないということではない! キリスト教は、歴史的、また教会政治的な不十分さを全て考慮に入れてもなお、良きものである。しかし、ナザレのイエスは、“完全な”お方なのだ! 私は、人間がつくった組織や制度よりも、むしろこのお方に従う。それが、私が自らをイエス・キリストの“フォロワー(追従者)”と呼ぶゆえんであり、私はこのお方をもっとよく知る旅の途上にあるのだ! 同時にまた私は、この世の人々の目には“クリスチャン(キリストに属する者)”というレッテルを貼られているが、それも大いに結構なことだ。

~サミュエル・C・リー~

 

After 25 years of being a pastor and educator, I am more than ever convinced that there is a huge difference between Jesus Christ and what the world calls "Christianity". Not that I'm disrespecting "Christianity"! "Christianity" with all its historic and political shortcomings, is still good, but Jesus of Nazareth is perfect! I rather follow Him than a man made system. That is why I always call myself, a "follower" of Jesus Christ, who is on journey to know Him more! At the same time in the eyes of the world I am labeled as "Christian" and that fine.

 

Samuel C. Lee