◆粗野さの正体◆

今日、私はショッピングセンターで、ある女性に助けを求めたのですが、その人の態度は粗野で、とても後味の悪いものでした。嫌味たっぷりで皮肉に満ちた言葉が、彼女の口をついて出たのです。

そんな経験をした今日になって初めて、私は粗野であることは“弱さ”のしるしだと気づきました。粗野で無礼な態度をとることは、その人に力や権威があるということではありません。それは、善良な心からは決して出てくるものではなく、憎しみと辛らつさに満ちた心からあふれるものなのです。他の人々に親切にしましょう。他の人々には、尊敬の心をもって接しましょう。たとえ私たちが、その人を好きになれなかったり、考え方が違っていたとしても――。

 

粗野さは、強さを装った弱さである。
~エリック・ホッファー~

 

Today at the shopping center I experienced rudeness by someone whom I asked help...it was a bad experience. Sarcastic and bitter words came out of her mouth...

 It is only today that I realized being rude is a sign of weakness. To be rude doesn't mean you have power or authority. Rudeness never flows from a good heart but a heart full of bitterness. Let us be kind to others, let us treat others with respect, even when we don't like them or agree with them.