《詩》私は、なおも立ち上がる

◆サミュエルの書斎から◆
なんと心を揺さぶるマヤ・アンジェロウの詩だろう。…美しい。
What an inspiring poem by Maya Angelou... beautiful

 

《詩》 ―私は、なおも立ち上がる―

あなたは、その苦々しい、ねじ曲げたウソで
私を歴史に書き残すかもしれない。
あなたは汚れた泥土の中で、私を踏みつけるかもしれない。
でも、この泥土のように、私は、なおも立ち上がるわ。

 

私の厚かましさに、あなたは腹を立てているの?
なぜあなたは、憂鬱に付きまとわれているの?
あたかも私が油田を探し当て
居間でそれを汲み上げているかのように歩くからって。

 

まるで月のように、太陽のように
確かな潮の高まりをもって
まるで高く湧き上がる希望のように
私は、なおも立ち上がるわ。

 

あなたは打ちしおれる私を見たかったの?
うなだれた頭と、伏せた目を?
肩を涙の滴のように落として。
私の魂の泣き叫びで弱り果てて…。

 

私の傲慢さが、あなたの癪(しゃく)に障るの?
そんなにえらく難しく考えないでよ。
私が、あたかも我が家の裏庭を掘ってて
金鉱を探し当てたみたいに笑うからって。

 

あなたは、その言葉で私を撃つかもしれない。
あなたは、その目で私を斬るかもしれない。
あなたは、その憎しみで私を殺すかもしれない。
でも私は、空気のように、なおも立ち上(のぼ)るわよ。

 

私の色っぽさが、あなたをイライラさせるの?
そんなにショックなこと?
この太ももにダイヤモンドをしのばせたみたいに
私が、あでやかに踊るのが?

 

歴史の恥辱の掘っ建て小屋の中から
私は立ち上がる。
悲嘆に根付いた過去の中から
私は立ち上がる。
私は黒い大洋。跳びはねるように広がり
湧き出し、膨らみながら、潮の中を押し進んでゆく。
恐怖と不安の幾夜をあとにし
私は立ち上がる。
驚くほど澄みやかな真昼のただなかへ
私は立ち上がる。


私の祖先たちがくれた賜物を携えて
私は奴隷の夢、そして希望なの。
立ち上がる。
立ち上がる。
私は立ち上がるわ。

~マヤ・アンジェロウ~
(アメリカの女流黒人小説家、詩人、劇作家、歌手、女優、公民権運動家 1928~2014)

 

Still I Rise
You may write me down in history
With your bitter, twisted lies,
You may tread me in the very dirt
But still, like dust, I'll rise.

Does my sassiness upset you?
Why are you beset with gloom?
'Cause I walk like I've got oil wells
Pumping in my living room.

Just like moons and like suns,
With the certainty of tides,
Just like hopes springing high,
Still I'll rise.

Did you want to see me broken?
Bowed head and lowered eyes?
Shoulders falling down like teardrops.
Weakened by my soulful cries.

Does my haughtiness offend you?
Don't you take it awful hard
'Cause I laugh like I've got gold mines
Diggin' in my own back yard.

You may shoot me with your words,
You may cut me with your eyes,
You may kill me with your hatefulness,
But still, like air, I'll rise.

Does my sexiness upset you?
Does it come as a surprise
That I dance like I've got diamonds
At the meeting of my thighs?

Out of the huts of history's shame
I rise
Up from a past that's rooted in pain
I rise
I'm a black ocean, leaping and wide,
Welling and swelling I bear in the tide.
Leaving behind nights of terror and fear
I rise
Into a daybreak that's wondrously clear
I rise
Bringing the gifts that my ancestors gave,
I am the dream and the hope of the slave.
I rise
I rise
I rise.
 
Maya Angelou