◆「私はクリスチャンです」と言うとき◆

「私はクリスチャンです」と言うとき、
「私は救われました!」と叫んでいるのではありません。
こう囁いているのです。「私は失われていました!
だからこの道を選んだのです」と。

 

「私はクリスチャンです」と言うとき、
人間的な誇りから言っているのではありません。
こう告白しているのです。「私はつまずくので、
神様にそばにいてほしいのです」と。

 

「私はクリスチャンです」と言うとき、
強くなろうと頑張っているのではありません。
こう明かしているのです。「私は弱いので、
強くあり続けられるよう祈っているのです」と。

 

「私はクリスチャンです」と言うとき、
自分の成功を誇っているのではありません。
こう認めているのです。「私は失敗して、
この負い目はいまだに返しきれません」と。

 

「私はクリスチャンです」と言うとき、
全てを知っていると思ってはいません。
混乱を甘んじて受け入れ、
「教えてください」と謙虚にお願いしているのです。

「私はクリスチャンです」と言うとき、
自分は完全だと主張しているのではありません。
私の欠点は全て人の目に明らかです。
でも神様は、“信仰者になれる”と信じてくださるのです。

 

「私はクリスチャンです」と言うとき、
私はいまだに刺すような苦痛を持っています。
人並み以上の頭痛にも耐えねばなりません。
だから私は主のみ名を呼ぶのです。

 

「私はクリスチャンです」と言うとき、
私は人を裁こうとは思いません。
そんな権限は私にはありません。
私はただ「自分は愛されている」と知っているだけなのです。

 

~キャロル・ウィマー~

 

When I say, "I am a Christian"
 by Carol Wimmer

When I say, "I am a Christian"
I'm not shouting, "I’ve been saved!"
 I'm whispering, "I get lost!
 That's why I chose this way".

When I say, "I am a Christian"
I don't speak with human pride
 I'm confessing that I stumble -
Needing God to be my guide

When I say, "I am a Christian"
I'm not trying to be strong
 I'm professing that I'm weak
 And pray for strength to carry on.

When I say, "I am a Christian"
I'm not bragging of success
 I'm admitting that I've failed
 And cannot ever pay the debt.

When I say, "I am a Christian"
I don't think I know it all
 I submit to my confusion
 Asking humbly to be taught.

When I say, "I am a Christian"
I'm not claiming to be perfect
 My flaws are all too visible
 But God believes I'm worth it.

When I say, "I am a Christian"
I still feel the sting of pain
 I have my share of heartache,
 Which is why I seek His name.

When I say, "I am a Christian"
I do not wish to judge
 I have no authority...
 I only know I'm loved