◆”選び”を救霊の怠慢の言い訳にするなかれ◆

 

ある論争主義者が、一度こう言った。「もし私が、神は救われる人をすでに選んでいると考えたなら、私は伝道説教などする気にならない」と。それこそは、私が伝道説教をする理由なのだ。彼を消極的にさせるものが、私にとっては救霊の熱心さへの主たる原動力となっている。もし主が、(すでに救われる人を定めていて、これ以上:訳者注)救われるべき人を一人も持たないとするなら、私がこの務めに喜びを感じることはつゆほどもないことになる。

 

 

 

"A controversialist once said, 'If I thought God had a chosen people, I should not preach.' That is the very reason why I do preach. What would make him inactive is the mainspring of my earnestness. If the Lord had not a people to be saved, I should have little to cheer me in the ministry."