◆最高の庭師◆

 

信仰と希望と愛の庭で

 

―最高の庭師―

 

 

 

こんな小さい寓話があります。サクラソウが、庭の日陰の片隅に自生していましたが、他の花々が、陽光のもと、陽気に咲いているのを見て、不満になりました。それで自分をもっと目立つ場所に移してほしいと頼みました。

 

 

 

その祈りは聞かれました。庭師はその花をもっと目立つ、日当たりのいい場所に移植しました。サクラソウは、それは喜びました。―でも、変化はすぐに訪れました。咲いてみても、美しさは見る影もなく失われ、青ざめて、まるで病気のように見えました。暑い太陽が、彼らの活気を失わせ、しおれさせたのです。それで、サクラソウは、もう一度元の日陰に移してくれるように頼みました。賢い庭師は、それぞれの花にとって、植えるのに最適の場所を知っているのです。

 

 

 

ちょうどそのように、庭師であられる神様も、ご自身が”かくあれかし”と願われたとおりに、ご自身の民が最もよく成長する場所をご存じです。ある人には、激しい嵐が必要です。ある人は、この世の逆境の日陰の中でのみ成長します。またある人は、幸運の柔らかで優しい影響のもとで、甘美に成熟します。手荒な経験は、その美しさを損なってしまうのです。庭師なる神様は、一人一人にとって何が最善であるかをご存じなのです!

 

 

 

There is a little fable which says that a primrose growing by itself in a shady corner of the garden, became discontented as it saw the other flowers in their mirthful beds in the sunshine, and begged to be moved to a more conspicuous place.

 

Its prayer was granted. The gardener transplanted it to a more showy and sunny spot. It was greatly pleased — but a change came over it immediately. Its blossoms lost much of their beauty, and became pale and sickly. The hot sun caused them to faint and wither. So it prayed again to be taken back to its old place in the shade. The wise gardener knows best, where to plant each flower.

 

Just so, God, The divine Gardener, knows where His people will best grow into what He would have them to be. Some require the fierce storms; some will only thrive in the shadow of worldly adversity; and some come to ripeness more sweetly under the soft and gentle influences of prosperity — whose beauty, rough experiences would mar. The divine Gardener knows what is best for each one!