◆人々の前でもキリストを生きよ◆

 

私の同朋たちよ、言わせてほしい。どんなときでも、キリストのようであれ。公の場でも彼に倣え。私たちのほとんどは、ある種の”公共性”の中で生きている。私たちの多くは、毎日、同輩たちの前で働くよう召されている。私たちは注目され、話す言葉は記憶され、その生きざまは、細部に至るまで吟味されている。私たちのなす全ては、“鵜の目鷹の目”のこの世がしかと観察しており、鋭い批判が私たちを待っているのだ。公の場でも、“キリストの命”を生きようではないか。

 

 

My brethren, let me say, be ye like Christ at all times, imitate him in public. Most of us live in some sort of publicity; many of us are called to work before our fellow men every day. We are watched; our words are caught; our lives are examined-taken to pieces. The eagle-eyed, argue-eyed world observes everything we do; and sharp critics are upon us. Let us live the life of Christ in public.