◆聞きたまえ 我が貧しき褒め歌を◆

 

全能の王! そのすばらしいみ手は、

 

海と陸地の重さを支え、

 

その恵みは、在庫の尽きないお店のようで、

 

“もっと欲しかった”とため息を漏らす者は一人だにない。

 

 

 

あなたの摂理は私の食べ物を備えてくださる。

 

それをおいしくしてくださるのも、あなたの恵み。

 

私の魂は、あなたのみ言葉で養われる。

 

魂と体で主を褒めたたえさせよ!

 

 

 

目に見える私の慰めの流れは、

 

この地上の“枠組み”(環境)を創られた神から来た。

 

私が何を望んでも、神の寛大さがかなえてくださる。

 

私の魂は、このお方によって永遠に生きるのだ。

 

 

 

神のみ手は、痛みから守ってくださるか、

 

もし感じてしまったら、再び癒やしてくださる。

 

サタンの悪意からは、私の心を盾のように守ってくださるか、

 

最善の道として退けてくださる。

 

 

 

私がこんなに感謝しているのに、

 

かくも貧しい歌しか歌えないことをお赦しください。

 

それはあなたへの賛美のことです。でもたとえどんなに貧しくとも、

 

天使の一人も、これ以上に歌うことはできません。

 

 

 

~ウィリアム・カウパー~

 

 

 

Almighty King! whose wondrous hand

 

 Supports the weight of sea and land;

 

 Whose grace is such a boundless store,

 

 No heart shall break that sighs for more.

 

Thy providence supplies my food,

 

 And 'tis Thy blessing makes it good;

 

 My soul is nourish'd by Thy Word,

 

 Let soul and body praise the Lord!

 

My streams of outward comfort came

 

 From Him who built this earthly frame;

 

 Whate'er I want His bounty gives,

 

 By whom my soul forever lives.

 

Either His hand preserves from pain,

 

 Or, if I feel it, heals again;

 

 From Satan's malice shields my breast,

 

 Or overrules it for the best.

 

Forgive the song that falls so low

 

 Beneath the gratitude I owe!

 

 It means Thy praise: however poor,

 

 An angel's song can do no more.

 

~ William Cowper