◆祈れないほど忙しくても◆

 

彼女は、ほんとに多くの家事で一日が追われ、

 

「私、祈る時間がないの」と、明るい声で誓うように言っていました。

 

でも私は、彼女が自分の仕事について、

 

日がな一日歌っていた歌を、今も覚えています。

 

なんともつまらないリズムに、単純で子どもっぽい調子の歌でした。

 

ほうきやモップや洗濯たわしの音が、それに調子を合わせていました。

 

でも、その陽気なメロディーに、

 

“恩恵”を受けていたのは他ならぬ私たちでした。

 

彼女の歌の記憶にある一節を口ずさむとき、

 

私たちの生きていく世界がより輝くことが分かったのです。

 

そして私は知っています、

 

神様が、そんな彼女に微笑んでおられたのを――。

 

そのバカげた、子どもっぽい歌は、ほんとは“祈り”だったのです。

 

~ヘレン・ローリー・マーシャル~

 

 

 

She cheerly vowed she’d no time to pray,

 

 So many homely tasks took up her day —

 

But I can still remember well the song

 

 She sang about her work the whole day long —

 

A simple, little tune with nonsense rhyme,

 

 Her broom, or mop, or scrub-brush keeping time —

 

But we, whose privilege it was to be

 

 Where we could hear that cheery melody,

 

 Found our world brighter as we went along,

 

 Humming remembered snatches of her song —

 

And God, I know, smiled down upon her there,

 

 Whose foolish, little song was really prayer.

 

 By Helen Lowrie Marshall