◆我が人生の”つづれ織り”◆

 

私の人生が、主と私の間で織られる織物だとするなら、

 

主が周到に用いられる糸の色を、私が選ぶことはできない。

 

 

 

しばしば、主は悲しみのうちに機(はた)を織られる。

 

そして、主は上のほうをご覧になり、私は隠れた下部を見ることを

 

愚かなプライド(誇り)のゆえに、私は忘れてしまう。

 

 

 

織機の音が静かになり、

 

機の杼(ひ)が左右に飛ぶのをやめて初めて、

 

神はつづれ織りを広げられ、

 

訳をご説明になる。

 

 

 

神様がご計画になった模様を織るには、

 

機織りの熟達した手の中で、

 

金や銀の糸と同じように、

 

暗く黒ずんだ糸も必要なのだと――。

 

 

 

~作者不詳~

 

 

 

THE TAPESTRY OF MY LIFE

 

 

 

My life if but a weaving

 

 Between my Lord and me

 

 I can not choose the colors

 

 He works so steadily.

 

Oft times He weaves in sorrow

 

 And I, in foolish pride,

 

 Forget He sees the upper

 

 And I, the underside.

 

Not until the loom is silent

 

 And the shuttles cease to fly,

 

 Will God unroll the tapestry

 

 And explain the reasons why.

 

The dark threads are as needed

 

 In the Weaver's skillful hand

 

 As the threads of gold and silver

 

 In the pattern He has planned.

 

 Author unknown