◆我が命、主の契約のうちにあり◆

 

もし私が、己の霊的生活を我がものとして自由にできるとすれば、私は早晩自殺していたに違いないが、そうはしない。私が自分自身を救えないのと同様、キリスト者として私は、自分自身の命を奪うこともまたできないのだ。なんとなれば、私の命は、かの”契約”の中に包まれているからだ。我が命は、天において、キリストと共にあるのだ。ああ、かくも誉れある、貴き契約よ!

 

 

 

If I had my spiritual life in my own possession I should be a suicide very soon, but it is not with me; and as I cannot save myself, as a Christian I cannot destroy myself, for my life is wrapped up in the covenant: it is with Christ in heaven. Oh, glorious and precious covenant!