◆”砂の福音”を信じるは災いなり◆

 

いわゆる”砂の福音”(訳注: 砂のように、不安定で、変わりやすい恵みを説く福音)なるものは、あなたを脱落させてはまた立ち上がらせるもので、この地上で、最も不快極まりない誤りである。もし私がそんなものを信じているとしたら、さしずめ私は福音を語り、日曜日には聖められているが、月曜には堕落し、火曜日には再びキリスト者らしくなることであろう。そしてこう言うのだ。「私は救いの恵みから落ちてしまったが、再び立ち戻った」と。だが今や、私は真正なるカルヴァン主義に立つキリスト者として、常に変わらぬ一貫性を持った生活を、私自身の内にも持ち、他者の内にも見ることを望む者だ。さもなければ、聖書には、信仰から脱落して、再び戻るようなことは不可能であると断言する多くの箇所があるにもかかわらず、私はそう考えることが可能だということになる。私が自らの内に、かき消すことのできないものを持っているということは、この世で最も大いなる守りの岩である。それは、私がそこから決して離れてはならない主の戦いの軍服を身に帯びているということである。この軍務は、私がそもそも主の軍隊に召されていなかった(訳注:救われていなかった)ことを証明しない限り、決して離れることはできないものなのだ。

 

 

 

As for that sandy gospel, which lets you fall away and then come back again, it is the wickedest falsehood on earth. If I believed it, I would preach the gospel and be holy on the Sunday, and fall away on the Monday, and be a Christian again on the Tuesday, and I should say, Ill have fallen from grace and have got up again.” But now, as a true Calvinistic Christian, I desire to have in myself, and see in others, a life of constant consistency, nor can I think it possible to fall away and then return, after the many passages which assert the impossibility of such a thing. That is the greatest safeguard on earth that I have something within me that never can be quenched; that I put on the regimentals of a service which I never must leave, which I cannot leave without having proved that I never was enlisted at all.