◆サタンのガレージセール◆

―ちょっとマジメに読む大人の寓話―

 

昔々、サタンがガレージセールを開催しました。

 

あちらには、彼自慢のキラキラ輝く装飾品がこぢんまりとまとまって飾られ、こちらには、“踏み石”として使うことによって、他者を傷つけるのを容易にする小道具が置かれていました。少し向こうには、レンズが飾られていて、それで見ると、その人自身の重要さが拡大され、また見方を変えると、他人や、時には自分自身をも小さく縮めて見ることができました。 

 

壁に向かっては、あなたの自尊心を“あれよあれよ”と言う勢いで成長促進させることを保証する、おなじみのガーデニング用具一式が陳列されていました。“嘲笑の熊手”もあれば、あなたの隣人を付き落とす穴を掘る“嫉妬のシャベル”もあり、“うわさ話や陰口”に、はたまた“自分本位や冷淡”におあつらえ向きの道具もそろっていました。これらの品々は、全て見た目を楽しませるばかりか、信じられないほどの約束と、繁栄の保証付きでした。

 

もちろん値段も法外に高いものでしたが、心配ご無用! 来会者全員に、無制限のクレジット払いが提供されたのです。サタンは、商品を呼び売りしながら、大声で叫んでいました。「さぁ持ち帰ってお使いください。お代は後日払いで結構ですよ!」

 

それらを見て回っていた訪問者は、いかにも使い古された、説明書きもない2つの道具が、片隅に立ててあるのに気づきました。ほとんど他の商品のようには人目を引かないのに、それらより高い値札が付いているので、彼は好奇心に駆られました。理由を尋ねると、サタンはただ笑ってこう答えました。「それは、私の”愛用品”だからですよ。もしこいつが、こんなに見てくれが悪くなければ、皆さん、それ相応にご覧になるでしょう。」サタンはその2つの道具を指さしながら言いました。「ほれ、一つは”疑い”で、もう一つは“落胆”です。こいつらは、他のどれも働かないときに、働きだすんですよ。」

 

~作者不詳~

 

(アーティスト) エドワード・ウィリアムズ

 

 

 

(Ⅰヨハネ 4:4 「子どもたちよ。あなたがたは神から出た者です。そして彼らに勝ったのです。あなたがたのうちにおられる方が、この世のうちにいる、あの者よりも力があるからです。」

 

(黙示録 20:10 「そして、彼らを惑わした悪魔は火と硫黄との池に投げ込まれた。そこは獣も、にせ預言者もいる所で、彼らは永遠に昼も夜も苦しみを受ける。」

 

 

 

"Satan's Garage Sale"

 

Once upon a time, Satan was having a garage sale.

 

 There, standing in little groups were all of his bright, shiny trinkets. Here were tools that make it easy to tear others down for use as stepping stones. And over there were some lenses for magnifying ones own importance, which, if you looked through them the other way, you could also use to belittle others, or even one’s self.

 

Against the wall was the usual assortment of gardening implements guaranteed to help your pride grow by leaps and bounds: the rake of scorn, the shovel of jealousy for digging a pit for your neighbor, the tools of gossip and backbiting, of selfishness and apathy. All of these were pleasing to the eye and came complete with fabulous promises and guarantees of prosperity.

 

Prices, of course, were steep; but not to worry! Free credit was extended to one and all. “Take it home, use it, and you won’t have to pay until later!” old Satan cried, as he hawked his wares.

 

The visitor, as he browsed, noticed two well worn, non-descript tools standing in one corner. Not being nearly as tempting as the other items, he found it curious that these two tools had price tags higher than any other. When he asked why, Satan just laughed and said, “Well, that’s because I use them so much. If they weren’t so plain looking, people might see them for what they were.” Satan pointed to the two tools, saying, “You see, that one’s Doubt and that one’s Discouragement — and those will work when nothing else will.”

 

~ written by: unknown to me

 

 Artist: Edward Williams

 

1 John 4:4 ~ "You, dear children, are from God and have overcome them, because the One who is in you is greater than the one who is in the world."

 

 *********************************************************************

 

 "Satan's days are numbered...by God", and satan will be no more.

 

 Rev. 20:10