◆安全な守り◆

―愛する亡き母へのオマージュ―

 

私がまだとても小さかった頃、

 

母は私を抱っこして、こうささやきました。

 

「私の一番のかわい子ちゃん、ママが危害から守ってあげるからね。」

 

私はまだ小さすぎて、彼女の言葉の全ては理解できなかったけれど、

 

母の声に込められた“愛”は、毎日、私の心地よい慰めでした。

 

 

 

私が歩くことを学んでいた時、母は私の手を取り、

 

力を貸してくれたので、私は立つことができました。

 

人生はつかの間です。私は老い、母もまた、

 

私の助けを必要とするほどに老いました。

 

彼女はほとんど歩けなくなりましたので、私がその手を取り、

 

私の力を借りて、彼女はなんとか立ち上がることができました。

 

 

 

母はさらに年を重ね、私は彼女を腕に抱え、こうささやきました。

 

「私の一番大好きなお母さん、私が危害から守ってあげますからね。」

 

彼女は私の言葉の全ては理解できないほど老いてしまいましたが、

 

私の声に込めた“愛”が、代わって彼女に話してくれました。

 

 

 

かつて母が私を抱いてくれたように、

最後に彼女を抱いた私は、そっとささやきました。

「この世で最愛のお母さん、“安全な旅”を祈ってるわ」と――。

 

~ヴァージニア・パスカレリ~

 

 

 

"Safe Keeping"

 

When I was very young

 

 my mother held me in her arms and whispered,

 

 "Dearest one, I'll keep you safe from harm."

 

 I was too young to understand every word she would say,

 

 but the love in her voice comforted me every day.

 

When I learned to walk, she held my hand

 

 and lent her strength, so I could stand.

 

 A lifetime is short; I grew older, so did she,

 

 until the day came where, it was she that needed me.

 

 She could barely walk, so I held her hand

 

 and lent her my strength, so she could stand.

 

When she was very old, I held her in my arms

 

 and whispered "Dearest one, I'll keep you safe from harm."

 

 She was too old to understand, every word that I said

 

 but the love in my voice, spoke to her instead.

 

At the end I held her, as she'd once held me

 

 and I whispered, "Dearest one, have a safe journey."

 

By Virginia Pasquarelli