◆年の終わりの祈り◆

 

愛する主よ、この古き一年の扉を閉じるに当たって、私は自分がやったこと、言ったこと、喜んだことをじっと考えています。そしてふと、いぶかってしまうのです。自分は失ったのか、それとも得たのかと――。 

 

私は、新しくできた友のことを、そして、古くからの、頼りになる、真実の友のことを考えました。主よ、私の古き一年の道は、より歩きやすいものでした。あなたと一緒に歩めたからです。 

 

私は、ほんとに多くの場合、自分の荷があまりに重くて担い難く、自分の信仰が自分の間を滑り落ちていくようだったと思っています。 

 

そして今、この新しい年の扉を開くに当たって、そっと注意深く中をのぞき込み、”いったい何が待っているんだろう?“との思いに駆られます。でも、私は扉を大きく開け放って、そこに私と家族を待っているものを迎えます。曇りなき真実の心をもって、それらに向き合っていくつもりです。

 

主よ、それらがなんであれ、あなたはそこにいてくださって、私に成し遂げさせてくださることを、私は知っています――。

 

~メレル・トンプソン夫人~

 

(アーティスト) トム・ホーイ

 

 

 

Dear Lord, as I close the door on this old year, I ponder on the things I've done... on the things I've said and the joys I've had... then I wonder, have I lost or won?

 

I've thought of the new friends I have made, and of the old ones staunch and true... the path of the old year was made easier Lord, because I have walked it with You.

 

I think of all the many times, when my burdens were so heavy to bear, and how my faith slipped away from me... but somehow You were always standing there.

 

Now as I open the door to this New Year, and carefully peep inside, I wonder what it holds for me... but I'll throw the door open wide and whatever it brings to me and mine, I'll meet it with a heart so true...

 

 I know that Lord whate'er it may be, You'll be there to carry me through.

 

~ Mrs. Merrel Thompson

 

 Artist: Tom Hoy