◆我、真理を語らずんば災いなり◆

 

さて、私がおおかたの諸君を喜ばすことしか語らなかったとしたら、私はまったくもってなんとしたらよかろう。私は、自分が“真理”と信じることを語るのだ。たとえ私が信じる真理のほんの片りんを省くことで、未来永劫にわたって英国王になれるとしても、私はそれを省くことはしない。(訳注:スポルジョンは英国人) 

 

Now, if I were to preach nothing but what would please the whole lot of you, what on earth should I do? I preach what I believe to be true; and if the omission of a single truth that I believe, would make me king of England throughout eternity, I would not leave it out.