◆古き納屋と老いた人々◆

 

先日、見知らぬ男が立ち寄って、ある申し出をしたのですが、それにはちょっと考え込んでしまいました。大通りの脇に立っていた古い納屋を買いたいと言うのです。私は即座に、「ご冗談でしょう」と言いました。着ている服、車、手、そして話しぶり、どれ一つとっても、彼は都会人タイプでした。なんでも、ドライブで通りかかり、たまたま高く茂る草の中に建つ美しい納屋を見つけて、”売り家”かどうかを確かめようと思ったのだそうです。私は「あんたの“美意識”も変わってますねぇ」と言いました。

 

 

 

確かにその納屋は、かつてはそこそこの建物だったのです。でもその時から、雪と氷と吹きすさぶ風にさらされる長年の冬を経てきました。夏には、灼熱の太陽が、ペンキが剥がれ落ちるまで、その古い納屋に打ち付け、木材は銀灰色に変わっていました。今やその古い建物は、かなり傾き、くたびれていました。それをその男は、「美しい」と言ったのです。

 

 

 

それで私は考え込んだわけです。外に出た私は、黙って立ち止まり、その古い納屋をしげしげと見ました。その見知らぬ男は、道路を下ったところに建てようとしている新しい住まいの書斎の壁に、納屋の木材を使いたいのだと言いました。彼の話では、人にはあんなに美しく塗ることはできない。ただ長年、そんな天気の中に立ち、嵐と焼けるような太陽に耐えることによって初めて、美しい木材は生まれるのだと言うのです。

 

 

 

それを聞いて、はたと気づきました。私たち人間も、あなたも私も、似たり寄ったりなのだと――。一つ一つの嵐によって、私たちのうちに美しさは成長していくのです。私たちの髪の毛も、やがて銀灰色に変わります。そして若い頃よりは、少しばかり腰も曲がってきます。でも善なる主は、ご自身のみ業をちゃんとなさいます。時が過ぎゆく中で、主は私たちの人生に起こる厳しい天候―乾いた期間も、嵐吹く季節をも無駄なく用いられ、他の方法では決して生み出すことのできないなさり方で、私たちを“美しく”する仕事に精を出されるのです。それを人々は、もっと楽な暮らしがしたいと、なんとしばしば不平をたれることでしょうか!

 

 

 

今日、業者たちが来て古い納屋を壊し、お金持ちの家を美しくするために、その木材は運ばれていきました。いつの日か、あなたも私も、善なる主が私たちのために備えられたどんな仕事でもするために、天に運ばれていくことでしょう。そのときには、この地上で耐えてきた季節のゆえに、私たちもより美しくなっているのでは、と思います。そして、私たちの天の父の家に、ほんの少しの美しさでも加えることができるのではないかと――。

 

 

 

今日、あなたのうちに、平安がありますように。

 

 

 

(Ⅰヨハネ 3:2 「愛する者たち。私たちは、今すでに神の子どもです。後の状態はまだ明らかにされていません。しかし、キリストが現れたなら、私たちはキリストに似た者となることがわかっています。なぜならそのとき、私たちはキリストのありのままの姿を見るからです。」

 

 

 

OLD BARNS AND OLD PEOPLE"

 

A stranger came by the other day with an offer that set me to thinking. He wanted to buy the old barn that sits out by the highway. I told him right off he was crazy. He was a city type, you could tell by his clothes, his car, his hands, and the way he talked. He said he was driving by and saw that beautiful barn sitting out in the tall grass and wanted to know if it was for sale. I told him he had a funny idea of beauty.

 

Sure, it was a handsome building in its day. But then, there's been a lot of winters pass with their snow and ice and howling wind. The summer sun's beat down on that old barn ' til all the paint's gone, and the wood has turned silver gray. Now the old building leans a good deal, looking kind of tired. Yet, that fellow called it beautiful.

 

That set me to thinking. I walked out to the field and just stood there, gazing at that old barn. The stranger said he planned to use the lumber to line the walls of his den in a new home he's building down the road. He said you couldn't get paint that beautiful. Only years of standing in the weather, bearing the storms and scorching sun, only that can produce beautiful wood.

 

It came to me then. We're a lot like that, you and I. With each storm the beauty grows with us. We turn silver, gray too ... and lean a bit more than we did when we were young. But the Good Lord knows what He's doing. And as the years pass He's busy using the hard weather of our lives, the dry spells and the stormy seasons to do a job of beautifying us in ways that nothing else can produce. And to think how often folks holler because they want life easy!

 

They took the old barn down today and hauled it away to beautify a rich man's house. And I reckon someday you and I'll be hauled off to Heaven to take on whatever chores the Good Lord has for us.

 

And I suspect we'll be more beautiful then for the seasons we've been through here ... and just maybe even add a bit of beauty to our Father's house.

 

May there be peace within you today.

 

"Beloved, now are we the sons of God, and it doth not yet appear what we shall be: but we know that, when he shall appear, we shall be like him; for we shall see him as he is." (1 John 3:2)