◆サンタクロースの祈り◆

 

そりに荷物を積み、トナカイの餌も済ませました。

 でもサンタは、まだベッドのそばにひざまずいています。

 

彼は祈りました。

「愛する父なる神様、今宵、私と共にいてください。

 やるべきことは山積みで、スケジュールはぎっしりです。

そりに飛び乗り、夜空を猛スピードで走り抜けねばなりません。

トナカイのうちの1頭は、飛べないことを百も承知の上で――。

 これから一軒一軒の家を訪ねます。

 夜明けの光が差し始める前に、

 たった一晩で、全世界を巡らねばなりません。

 そりの鈴を鳴り響かせながら、

 一つ一つの小さなひずめがパカパカ音を立てる中を、

 それぞれの家の屋根に降り立ちます。

  

家の中に入るのは、ひと苦労です。

それで私はそれぞれの煙突の真ん中を滑り降ります。

私の袋の中は、みんなの願いどおりのオモチャでいっぱいです。

それを配る仕事は終わりがありません。

あの時の“パンと魚”のように――。

 

私は全ての靴下を満たし、なんの跡も残しません。

 私のおやつに置かれているクッキーも全て平らげます。

 主よ、これらの全ては、あなたに依るゆえにできるのです。

 ただ私を祝福してください。それでこの仕事は楽になります。

  

これらの業は全て、このお方の誕生を――

 私たちを贖うために送られた、

 あなたのいとも聖なるみ子のご降誕を褒めたたえるためです。

 ですから、私があなたの栄光を奪い取ることのないように、

 どうぞ主よ、私の全ての友人たちに思い出させてください。

 どなたが私にこの仕事をお与えになったかを――。

 

~ウォレン・D・ジェニングズ~

 

"Santa's Christmas Prayer"

The sleigh was packed,

 the reindeer were fed,

 But Santa still knelt

 by the side of the bed.

"Dear Father," he prayed

 "Be with me tonight.

 There's much work to do

 and my schedule is tight.

 I must jump in my sleigh

 and streak through the sky,

 Knowing full well

 that a reindeer can't fly.

I will visit each household

 before the first light,

 I'll cover the world

 and all in one night.

 With sleigh bells a-ringing,

 I'll land on each roof,

 Amid the soft clatter

 of each little hoof.

To get in the house

 is the difficult part,

 So I'll slide down the chimney

 of each little heart.

 My sack will hold toys

 to grant all their wishes.

 The supply will be endless

 like the loaves and the fishes.

I will fill all the stockings

 and not leave a track.

 I'll eat every cookie

 that's left for my snack.

 I can do all these things Lord,

 only through You,

 I just need your blessing,

 then it's easy to do.

All this is to honor

 the birth of the One,

 That was sent to redeem us,

 Your most Holy Son.

 So to all of my friends,

 lest Your glory I rob,

 Please Lord, remind them,

 who gave me this job."

by Warren D. Jennings