◆あなたも”聖職者”なのです◆

このことは強調しておかなければならないが、私はいつでも、牧師、あるいは説教者を“聖職者”と呼ぶことには反対である。あなたがそうではないのと同様、私たちもまた、そのような者ではない。全ての聖徒らは“聖職者”なのだ。しかしながら、説教をする人以上に、立ち上がって「私は聖職者だ」と言う人も、誤りなのだ。もはや私は、牧師と信徒という区別には、うんざりなのである。

 

I always have an objection-I must state it strongly-to calling a clergyman, or any man that preaches, a priest. We are no more so than you are. All saints are priests. But, for a man to stand up and say he is a priest, any more than those he preaches to, is a falsehood. I detest the distinction of clergy and laity.