◆罪の訴追者、一人だにあらず◆

神の書なる聖書には、私に立ち向かう罪はない。それらはキリストの血潮によって、全て、永遠に抹消され、彼ご自身の右の手によって無効とされた。私には何も恐れることはない。私を罪にとがめることはできない。(訳注:ローマ 8:33「神に選ばれた人々を訴えるのはだれですか。」 それは神にあらず。彼は義としてくださったから。キリストにもあらず。彼は死んでくださったから。だが、私が「義とされた」と言う場合、誰がそうしてくださったのか? さらに加えよう。「私を私たらしめてくださった」と。“義認”は、徹頭徹尾、神のみ業である。”救い”は、主だけのものなのだ。

 

There is not a sin against me in Gods book: they have all been for ever obliterated by the blood of Christ, and cancelled by his own right hand. I have nothing to fear; I cannot be condemned. “Who shall lay anything to the charge of Gods elect?” Not God, for he hath justified, not Christ, for he hath died. But if I am justified, who made me so? I say “And hath made me what I am.” Justification from first to last, is of God. Salvation is of the Lord alone.