◆また、感謝の心を持つ人になりなさい。(コロサイ3:15)◆

若い頃、私は単純に、“皮肉な態度”や、“批判的な態度”は、年と共に薄れていくものだと考えていました。大人になる頃には、私は感じの良い人間になっているだろうと考えていたのです。

 

がっかりしたことには、私の心はいまだにそのような誘惑にさらされていることに気づきました。でも、それはそんなに驚くことでしょうか? 結局のところ、私たちは、決して“罪ある性質”をなくすことはできないのです。たとえ聖霊が“霊的な性質”を与えてくださったとしてもです。

 

私は、そのような誘惑を神様にお渡しすることを忘れないよう、このお方と、絶えず、一瞬一瞬、交わっている必要があることが分かりました。コーリー・テン・ブームは言っています。「誘惑がやってきて私のドアをノックしたら、私はイエス様に応対してもらいます」と。

 

皮肉な態度は、最近、私をしきりに悩ませています。年を取るにつて、だんだんひどくなるようです。私の過去の経験によると、物事への私の洞察と分析は正しいかもしれませんが、もし私の心に”愛”がなければ、それは“罪”であるということです。

 

皮肉な態度への唯一の治療方法は、“感謝”の習慣を培うことです。感謝に満ちた心は、皮肉にはなれないのです。

 

今日、もしあなたが自分は皮肉で批判的になっていると気づいたら、あなたの人生におけるすべての恵みに対して、感謝を始めてください。あなたはより深い幸福感に満たされるはずです。

 

父なる神様、私のうちに、感謝の心をおつくりください。皮肉や批判から私を守ってください。アーメン。

 

And always be thankful” Colossians 3:15

 

When I was younger, I naively thought temptations such as cynicism and critical attitudes would lessen with age. I thought I would be a nicer person when I became a senior.

 

To my dismay, I find that my mind is still being attacked with those temptations. But why should I be surprised? After all, we never lose our sinful nature, even though the Holy Spirit gives us a spiritual nature.

 

I find that I need a continuous, moment-by-moment fellowship with God so that I remember to give the temptations to Him. Corrie Ten Boon said, “When temptations come knocking at my door, I let Jesus answer.”

 

Cynicism has been plaguing me lately — it seems to be getting worse as I get older. Based on my past experiences, my insights and analysis may be accurate, but if my heart is without love, it is sin.

 

The only cure for cynicism is to cultivate a habit of thankfulness. A thankful heart cannot be cynical.

 

If you find yourself being cynical or critical today, begin thanking God for all the blessings in your life. You will be much happier.

 

Father, create in us thankful hearts. Keep us from being critical and cynical. Amen.