◆知られざる多くの人々のための祈り◆

「わたしは、ただこの人々のためだけでなく、彼らのことばによってわたしを信じる人々のためにもお願いします。

 それは、父よ、あなたがわたしにおられ、わたしがあなたにいるように、彼らがみな一つとなるためです。また、彼らもわたしたちにおるようになるためです。そのことによって、あなたがわたしを遣わされたことを、世が信じるためなのです。またわたしは、あなたがわたしに下さった栄光を、彼らに与えました。それは、わたしたちが一つであるように、彼らも一つであるためです。わたしは彼らにおり、あなたはわたしにおられます。それは、彼らが全うされて一つとなるためです。それは、あなたがわたしを遣わされたことと、あなたがわたしを愛されたように彼らをも愛されたこととを、この世が知るためです。」(ヨハネ1720-23)

 

この祈りは、私たちのためのものです! イエス様はここで、使徒的な福音宣教の結果、やがて主を信じるようになる人々のために祈っておられました。私たちは、イエス様に顔と顔を合わせてお会いしてはいませんが、使徒たちがこのお方について書き記した福音のゆえに、彼を信じたのです。イエス様は、ご自身の教会が、一つの福音のもとに一致し、一つのみ霊によって力を与えられ、永遠の命への一つの望みを持つように計画されました。

「からだは一つ、御霊は一つです。あなたがたが召されたとき、召しのもたらした望みが一つであったのと同じです。主は一つ、信仰は一つ、バプテスマは一つです。すべてのものの上にあり、すべてのものを貫き、すべてのもののうちにおられる、すべてのものの父なる神は一つです。」(エペソ44-6)

 

 

PRAYING FOR UNKNOWN MILLIONS

John 17:20-23 "My prayer is not for them alone. I pray also for those who will believe in me through their message, that all of them may be one, Father, just as you are in me and I am in you. May they also be in us so that the world may believe that you have sent me. I have given them the glory that you gave me, that they may be one as we are one: I in them and you in me. May they be brought to complete unity to let the world know that you sent me and have loved them even as you have loved me."

 

This prayer is for us! Jesus was praying for the people who would come to believe in Him as a result of the apostolic gospel. We never met Jesus face to face, but we have believed in Jesus because of what the apostles wrote about Him. Jesus designed His church to be united around one gospel, empowered by one Spirit, having one hope of eternal life (Ephesians 4:4-6).