◆釣り◆

少年だった私は、手に釣り竿を持って、川のそばの大きな岩に座っていました。父は私の隣で、”釣りの美学”なるものを教え込もうと必死でした。せっかちだった私は、決して優秀な生徒ではありませんでした。そこにじっと座っているのが嫌いで、野球や自転車乗りがしたくてたまらなかったのです。何度かやってみたあと、父もとうとう諦めて、私が野球に行くのを許したので、父も平和に釣りを楽しむことができました。

 

 私がやっと釣りを楽しむことができるようになったのは、年を取ってからでした。釣りは、日々の生活のストレスや過労から逃れる方法でした。静かに、平安でいられる方法でした。それは、独りで座り、私たちの周りの至る所にある自然の美しさや、神の愛を楽しむ方法でした。自分にも子供ができると、私は彼らを何度か釣りに連れていきましたが、息子たちの“自閉症”は、いっときも静かに座っていることを許しませんでした。じきに私たちは釣りを諦め、代わりに、他の人たちが釣りをしている田舎の湖を散歩することに平安を見いだしました。

 

 少年だった私は、聖書の中でイエス様が、弟子たちに「お前たちを人間を取る漁師にしてあげよう」と話された箇所が、しばしば不思議でなりませんでした。「どうやって人間が人間を釣れるんだろう?」、そう思ったのです。でも大人になるにつれて、分かってきました。叫んだり、大声でどなっては、魚や人を取ることはできません。彼らを怖がって逃げさせるだけです。そうではなく、あなたは網を用意して、静かに舟を出さなければならないのです。釣り糸をそっと垂れて、忍耐深く待たなければなりません。深みにいる全ての飢え渇いた魂に、“神様の無条件の愛”というエサをぶら下げなければなりません。”愛と真実”という網を、喜びをもって投げ広げ、彼らがそこに寄ってくるのを待たなければならないのです。

 

 たぶん、私たち“漁師”全てが、マーク・トウェインの忠告に従うことが、最善の方法でしょう。「自分が死んだときに、葬儀屋さえ悲しむような生き方をしたまえ」。なぜなら、人々の心を捉えるのは、愛の人生を生きることによってだからです。イエス様が召された“人間を取る漁師”になるのは、私たちの平安、喜び、親切を、人々にも分かち合うことによってだからなのです。

~ジョセフ・J. マゼラ~

 

【訳者の一言】マーク・トウェインの言葉、いいですね! 葬儀屋さんにとっては、召天者が一人でも多いほうが商売繁盛というものですが、その葬儀屋さんさえ、「あの人には死んでほしくなかった。もっと長生きしてほしかった」と嘆かせるような人生。これこそ神様に救われ、生かされた者の“人間冥利”に尽きるというものです。よし、このような人生を生きよう!

 

"Fishing"

 

I was a young boy sitting on a big rock by a river with a pole in my hands. My Dad was next to me trying to show me the fine art of fishing. Being an impatient boy I wasn't a very good student. I hated just sitting there and longed to be playing ball or riding my bike. After a few more attempts my Dad finally gave up and let me go play so he could fish in peace.

 

It wasn't until I was older that I finally began to appreciate fishing. It was a way to escape the stress and strain of daily life. It was a way to be quiet and peaceful. It was a way to sit in solitude and enjoy the beauty of nature and the love of God that was all around us. When I had my own children I took them fishing a few times, but my sons' Autism made it too hard for them to be quiet and sit still. We soon gave up fishing and instead found our peace walking around the local lake while others fished it.

 

As a boy I was often puzzled by the part of the Bible where Jesus told his disciples that he would make them "fishers of men." I thought, "How can anyone fish men?" As I got older, however, I began to understand. You can't catch fish or men by screaming and shouting. That only scares the fish and men away. Instead you have to ready your nets and cast off your boat quietly. You have to set your line peacefully and patiently. You have to dangle the bait of God's unconditional love to all the hungry souls out there. You have to joyfully cast your net of love and truth and let them come to it.

 

Perhaps it is best if all of us fishermen follow the advice of Mark Twain and "so live that when we come to die even the undertaker will be sorry." For it is by living a life of love that we catch the hearts of others. And it is by sharing our peace, joy, and kindness that we become the "fishers of men" that Jesus called us to be.

 

By Joseph J. Mazzella