◆二冊の本◆

大学1年の時、私は幾つかの夏期クラスを取りました。夏の間は、大学も静かで、がらんとしていたので、エアコンが7月の暑気を抑え込んでくれる大きな図書室でほとんどの時間を過ごしました。まるで世界中の本がそこにあるような気がして、私は時間をかけて棚から棚を通り抜け、できるだけ多くの本を見て回りました。

 ある日、私は二冊のとても違う本を見つけました。一冊はアドルフ・ヒトラーの書いた「我が闘争」、もう一冊はアンネ・フランクの「ある若い少女の日記(邦題「アンネの日記」)」でした。興味に駆られた私は、いつものやり方で、二冊の本を読み比べることにしました。それぞれにページをパラパラめくって、私に話しかけてくるような個所を探すのです。ほどなく私は、ヒトラーの“宣言書”は、論旨がごた混ぜで混乱させるだけでなく、まるで静脈に毒を注入されたように魂を凍らせるような思想に満ちていることが分かりました。少ししてから、私はもうその本を脇へ投げ出し、アンネの日記を読み始めました。どのページにも、彼女のユーモアと、知恵と、精神と、愛と、喜びが込められていました。彼女は私を、人間性と、私自身と、この世界に対する希望で満たしてくれました。彼女がヒトラーの大量虐殺によって、あまりにも早く取り去られたことを私は悲しみましたが、彼女の書いたものが生き残ったことを神に感謝しました。

 アンネは書いています。「世界をよくするために何かを始めるのに、ただの一瞬だって待ってることはないのよ。」

 私自身が書くことを始めたときに、自分が誰の本を模範にしたいと思っているか、分かっていました。私は、他の人々の心と魂を高く引き上げるような考え方を分けてもらおうと思いました。私たちへの神の愛と、お互いに対する愛を書きたいと思いました。この世界に、もっと多くの愛、もっと多くの喜び、もっと多くの光をもたらす言葉を書きたいと思いました。

 あなたもまた、それぞれ、“一冊の本”を書いているのです。その本は、「私の人生」という題で、あなたはそこに、あなたがやる全てのこと、あなたが選び取る全ての選択を書き込むのです。すばらしい本にしてください。読む人を引き上げ、魂を奮い立たせ、この世界をよりよくするような本に。それを「愛の物語」にしてください。あまりにもステキで、天もほほ笑んでしまうような物語に――

~ジョセフ・J.マゼラ~

 

"Two Books"

 When I was in college one year I signed up for some Summer classes. The college was quiet and mostly empty during the Summer months and I spent most of my time in the huge library with its air conditioning to beat the July heat. It felt like every book in the whole world was there and I took my time going through the shelves looking at as many as I could.

 One day in particular I found two very different books there. One was "Mein Kampf" by Adolf Hitler and the other was “The diary of a young girl” by Anne Frank. Being curious I decided to look through them both in my usual fashion, skipping through the pages and looking for passages and paragraphs that would speak to me. I soon found that Hitler's manifesto was not only muddled and confusing but also full of ideas that chilled my soul and felt like poison in my veins. After a short while I tossed it aside and started to read Anne Frank's diary. In page after page I felt her wit, wisdom, spirit, love, and joy. She filled me with hope for humanity, for myself, and for this world. I grieved that she had been taken from us so soon by Hitler's Holocaust, but I thanked God that her writings had survived.

 Anne Frank wrote that "Nobody need wait a single moment before starting to improve the world." When I started to write myself then I knew whose book's example I wanted to follow. I wanted to share ideas that uplifted the hearts and souls of others. I wanted to write of God's love for us and our love for each other. I wanted to write words that brought more love, more joy, and more light into this world.

 Each of you is writing a book too. This book is called "Your Life" and you write it with every thing you do and every choice you make. Make it a great story, one that uplifts, inspires, and makes this world a better place. Make it a love story so beautiful that even Heaven smiles.

 By Joseph J. Mazzella