◆老人と少年◆

 少年は言った、「僕、時々スプーンを落とすんだ。」

 老人が言った、「私もよくやるよ。」

 少年はささやいた、「お漏らししちゃうんだ。」

 「私もそうさ。」と小さな老人は笑った。

 少年はさらに、「しょっちゅう大声で泣いちゃう。」

 老人はうなずいて「私も泣くよ。」

 「でも、一番悲しいのはね、」と少年。

 「大人が僕を構ってくれないことなんだ。」

 すると少年は、しわくちゃに年老いた手の温かさを感じた。

 「君の気持ちはよく分かるよ。」小さな老人は言った。

 (シェル・シルバーステイン)

 

(訳注: 作者は20世紀アメリカの詩人、シンガーソングライター、漫画家。この詩には、解説不要ですね。)

 

"The Little Boy and the Old Man

 

Said the little boy, "Sometimes I drop my spoon."

 Said the old man, "I do that too."

 The little boy whispered, "I wet my pants."

 I do that too," laughed the little old man.

 Said the little boy, "I often cry."

 The old man nodded, "So do I."

 But worst of all," said the boy, "it seems

 Grown-ups don't pay attention to me."

 And he felt the warmth of a wrinkled old hand.

 I know what you mean," said the little old man."

Shel Silverstein