◆主よ、あなたを知り、感謝します◆

主よ、私はちりやあくたに過ぎませんが、私はあなたと愛の絆で結ばれています。それゆえ、私はあなたと自由に語り合えると感じるのです。

 あなたを知る前の私は、“無”に等しい存在でした。私は人生の意味を知らず、自分自身のことも分かっていませんでした。私は、あなたが目的を持って私をこの世に生まれさせてくださったことに、何の疑いも持ちませんが、それはあなたが私を必要としておられたからではなく、私もあなたのお役に立つ者ではありませんでした。でもその時、あなたは私に、あなたのみ子イエス・キリストの言葉を聞かせようと心に決められたのです。私が主のみ言葉を聞いた時、あなたは主の愛が私の心を貫くことができるようになさいました。そして今、私は、主の愛と真実に身も心も浸されています。

 (ポアティエのヒラリー)

 

(訳注: ヒラリーは、4世紀フランスのポアティエのカトリック司教で教会博士。それにしても、なんと深く、親密な神との交わりでしょうか。でもこれは、決して特殊で神秘的な神体験ではありません。キリストのものになった私たち一人一人に、み子の十字架のあがないによって許された、祈りの“祝福の姿”なのです。)(訳: 小川政弘)

 

"Although I am dust and ashes, Lord, I am tied to You by bonds of love. Therefore I feel I can speak freely to You. Before I came to know You, I was nothing. I did not know the meaning of life, and I had no understanding of myself. I have no doubt that You had a purpose in causing me to be born; yet You had no need of me, and on my own I was of no use to You. But then You decided that I should hear the words of Your Son, Jesus Christ. And that as I heard His words, You enable His love to penetrate my heart. Now I am completely saturated in His love and faith."

 ~ Hilary of Poitiers